poetry · writing

Physical Features #1

Just a small note before this piece, I’d like to thank everyone who sent in their requests for a new theme! I had a few to choose from and I thought that “Physical Features” would be very interesting. So please read and share as we start the new intriguing theme!

Thanks!

 

“Iridescent”

The ocean waves could never compare,

To the eyes I saw when I caught your stare.

Captivating like the sky,

I couldn’t simply just walk by.

I stopped and smiled and said hello,

And when she spoke her whole face glowed.

She walked as if she owned the town,

Her long legs swept like an unhemmed gown.

I couldn’t speak I stuttered and spat,

I mumbled “sorry” and she just laughed.

“You’re doing fine,” she said so sweet,

But all I do is trip over my feet.

I gained my confidence one word at a time,

And soon the afternoon was flying by.

I can’t remember a thought I inquired,

Her skin was distracting like the flames of a fire.

She made me tingle when her hand brushed my arm,

All I heard in my head were ringing alarms,

That told me to ask her out on a date,

But my stuttering self said that I should just wait.

Maybe she was out of my league,

She was perfect and I was just me.

She had curves and I had flaws,

She knew what to do and I was lost.

Iridescent is what she was,

Confident, glowing and humorous.

Everything about her was great,

So I finally decided to ask her on a date.

To my surprised she smiled and said,

“I’ve been waiting for you to ask all day”

I got her number and I tried to hide

My enthusiasm for Saturday night.

She kissed my cheek and I turned beet red,

“See you Saturday!” she waved and said.

I watched her as she walked away,

Her hips had such an intoxicating sway.

I couldn’t believe what just happened here,

Because she was iridescent and I was just me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

